These Twelve House Republicans Voted Against Tax Bill – Have One Thing In Common

Twelve Republican members of the House of Representatives voted against the tax reform bill. One might wonder why they would vote against a tax cut for their constituents, it

tax bill house vote twelve

The House Republicans who voted against the Tax Cuts and Jobs Act knew that the bill was going to pass regardless of what they did, so their votes against it were largely symbolic and political in nature.

They saw, in their particular situations, a greater down side to aligning with President Trump and giving the American people more of their own money to spend as well as a booming economy and opted for the status quo as somehow being preferable.

That is something they will have to either justify or be championing next year. With less money coming out of people’s paychecks it’s likely going to be a tough sell going into the November House elections.

There were twelve Republican House members in all who voted against their party and the majority on Tuesday, opting to instead throw in with every Democrat who failed to support the legislation. Democrats never think or vote for themselves. They’re just seat holders who vote as they’re told by Soros and the rest of the globalist Democrat leadership.

Lower income tax rates for both individuals and small businesses is the kind of thing one would expect would have led to unanimous support. The jobs created by lowering the corporate tax rate and repatriating money overseas are Republican type issues. Even the eventual repeal of the Obamacare individual mandate wasn’t enough to persuade them they were on the wrong course.

Those 12 Representatives who may have a lot of explaining to do are:

Dana Rohrabacher – CA

Darrell Issa – CA

Walter B. Jones – NC

Frank A. LoBiondo – NJ

Christopher H. Smith – NJ

Leonard Lance – NJ

Rodney Frelinghuysen – NJ

Lee Zeldin – NY

Peter T. King – NY

Dan Donovan – NY

John J. Faso – NY

Elise Stefanik – NY

It’s worth noting that every one of the “no” votes with the exception of Walter Jones is from the Democrat enclaves of California, New Jersey or New York. All of those states have high state income taxes with deductions that would be negatively impacted by the legislation.

Like they say, all politics is local.


Thank you for reading and sharing my work –  Please look for me, Rick Wells at,, and on my website http://RickWells.US  – Please SUBSCRIBE in the right sidebar at RickWells.US, (not dot com), and also follow me on Twitter @RickRWells.

%d bloggers like this: