Sen Cruz, Rep DeSantis Introduce Congressional Term Limits Legislation

cruz desantis


Senator Ted Cruz (R-TX) and Rep. Ron DeSantis (R-FL) issued a joint resolution on Tuesday proposing an amendment to the US Constitution imposing term limits on members of Congress. Senators would be limited to two six-year terms while members of Congress would be able to serve three two-year terms.

Cruz made the official announcement on his Senate website, where he wrote, “D.C. is broken. The American people resoundingly agreed on Election Day, and President-elect Donald Trump has committed to putting government back to work for the American people. It is well past time to put an end to the cronyism and deceit that has transformed Washington into a graveyard of good intentions.”

He said, “The time is now for Congress, with the overwhelming support of the American people, to submit this constitutional amendment to the states for speedy ratification. With control of a decisive majority of the states, the House of Representatives, and the Senate, we have a responsibility to answer the voters’ call-to-action. We must deliver.”

DeSantis said, “Term limits are the first step towards reforming Capitol Hill. Eliminating the political elite and infusing Washington with new blood will restore the citizen legislature that our Founding Fathers envisioned. The American people have called for increased accountability and we must deliver. Senator Cruz has been instrumental in efforts to hold Congress accountable, and I look forward to working with him to implement term limits.”

US Term Limits President Philip Blumel joined the discussion, writing “President Trump, Speaker Ryan and huge majorities of the American people are demanding term limits. Congress must listen and pass the Cruz-DeSantis amendment immediately.

In December, Sen. Cruz and Rep. DeSantis published an op-ed in the Washington Post announcing their intention to introduce a term limits amendment in the 115th Congress.  The amendment was cosponsored in the Senate by Senators Deb Fischer (R-NE), Ron Johnson (R-WI), Thom Tillis (R-NC), Marco Rubio (R-FL), Mike Lee (R-UT), and David Perdue (R-GA).

Please like Rick on Facebook at and on my website http://RickWells.US  – Please SUBSCRIBE in the right sidebar   I’m also at Stop The Takeover, and please follow on Twitter @RickRWells


6 Comments on Sen Cruz, Rep DeSantis Introduce Congressional Term Limits Legislation

  1. Dr. Deplorable // January 7, 2017 at 1:34 am // Reply

    Praise the Lord! Sen Cruz, Rep DeSantis Introduce Congressional Term Limits Legislation. Finally a couple of guys with GUTS!

  2. It will be interesting to see if Raphael “Ted” Cruz, a Cuban citizen, born in Calgary, Alberta, Canada will be prosecuted for fraud for his presidential campaign.

  3. This is also one of only three amendment items that would be considered at an Article 5 Convention of States.

  4. Do not be fooled by lyin’ cuz’s deception. It is unconstitutional to put term limits on congress by law. He’s capitalizing on people wanting to get rid of the lifelong members, which most of us do. But there’s a wrong way, cruz’s way, and a right way, constitutionally. If you don’t like a member, don’t vote for him. If he’s bad, he can be impeached. Cruz knows nothing about the Constitutional because he violated it the first day he ran for office and he violated it every time he supported obama’s mandates. He speaks about it according to what his audience wants to hear.

  5. Freddie Arthur Hisle // January 5, 2017 at 5:10 pm // Reply

    Term limits, no retirement, no jumping from the house to the senate, and from the senate to the house, it is supposed to be an honor to serve in the United States congress.

  6. Edie Faylor // January 5, 2017 at 1:53 pm // Reply

    It is high time to limit time served. Government service should not be a life long goal to those who don’t care about the people they represent but stay in to personally enrich themselves.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.


%d bloggers like this: